Home Rule for India League

Other names: 

All-India Home Rule League

Commonwealth of India League

Date began: 
01 Jan 1916
Precise date began unknown: 

The Home Rule for India League was founded by Annie Besant in 1916 and modelled on the Irish Home Rule League. It was dominated by Theosophists and Labourites.

In 1922, it was renamed the Commonwealth of India League and tried to lobby British MPs in support of self-government for India within the empire, or dominion status along the lines of Canada and Australia. It was soon transformed by Krishna Menon into the India League in 1928.

Key individuals: 

George Lansbury, Krishna Menon, H. S. Polak, David Graham Pole, Shapurji Saklatvala, John Scurr.

Secondary works: 

Visram, Rozina, Asians in Britain: 400 Years of History (London: Pluto Press, 2002)

Archive source: 

India Office Records, Asian and African Studies Reading Room, British Library, St Pancras