Indian Rebellion of 1857

10 May 1857

Also known as the Indian Mutiny, or India's First War of Independence, the Rebellion began on 10 May 1857 when sepoys from the East India Company's army erupted in revolt in Meerut. Further civil rebellion spread, particularly across Northern and Central India. This resistance was mostly crushed by 1858, with Indian loyalties divided.

The 1857 Rebellion had significant repercussions for Anglo-Indian relations for the next ninety years.