London Indian Society

Other names: 


Date began: 
24 Mar 1865
Date ended: 
01 Jan 1866
Precise date ended unknown: 

In 1865, the London Indian Society was founded under the guidance of Dadabhai Naoroji. It was formed by Indian students as a forum to air political grievances. Europeans were allowed to be honorary members but could not vote or hold office. Of the founding group of students, they included W. C. Bonnerjee, Manomohun Ghose, Pherozeshah Mehta and Badruddin Tyabji.

In 1866, the London Indian Society was superseded by the East India Association, although it did continue to exist in some separate form for a few more years.

Secondary works: 

Cumpston, Mary, 'Some Early Indian Nationalists and their Allies in the British Parliament, 1851-1906', The English Historical Review 76.299 (April 1961), pp. 279-97.

Ralph, Omar, Naoroji: The First Asian MP (St John's, Antigua: Hansib, 1997)

Seal, Anil, The Emergence of Indian Nationalism (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1968)