You are here

  1. Home
  2. About

css pmedia


We are proud of our history and excited about our future. The Open University has been teaching and researching physics for all of its 50-year history, whilst the Planetary Sciences Research Institute was founded in 1983. Along the way, we have developed notable expertise in astronomy and space instrumentation and, as befits a University committed to excellence in teaching and learning, we are also leading physics education researchers.

The current School of Physical Sciences brings all of these things together. We are the largest School in the largest Faculty at the Open University. We have around 90 academic and research staff and 70 research students based on the Open University's campus in Milton Keynes, plus extensive administrative, curriculum and laboratory support. We also have academic staff in various locations throughout the UK and associate lecturer staff based all over the UK and Ireland. We deliver Open University physics, astronomy, planetary science and interdisciplinary science undergraduate qualifications and a space science and technology MSc to thousands of students all over the world.

We are committed to principles of Equality and Diversity and try to be inclusive in all aspects of our work. We are delighted to have been awarded “Juno Champion” status by the Institute of Physics’ Juno Project, and Athena SWAN Silver department award in recognition of our actions to address the under-representation of women in physics and STEM, and to encourage better practice for both women & men.