You are here

  1. Home
  2. News

css pmedia


3D maps of ozone and dust on Mars

A new research grant will make it possible to create maps of ozone and dust found on Mars as part of the ExoMars mission.

8th March 2021

Congratulations to OU Space Science Club

We congratulate the Open University Space Science Club (@space_ou), which has won the National UK Students for the Exploration of Space (UKSEDS) Branch of the Year Award 2021 at the National Students Space Conference. This is a fantastic achievement for a club that didn’t exist 12 months ago!

8th March 2021

In Memoriam: Simon Clark

It is with great sadness that we share the news that our colleague, Simon Clark passed away suddenly last week.

Simon was a Senior Lecturer in Astronomy within the School of Physical Sciences, having originally joined the OU in 2005. He had previously worked as a researcher at University College London and the University of Sussex having obtained his PhD from Southampton University.

1st March 2021

One step closer to building habitats on the Moon

A team of lunar scientists from The Open University (OU) and the European Astronaut Centre (EAC) are making advances in building permanent structures on the Moon’s surface.

28th January 2021

Paul Lidgett Memorial Prize winner announced

We are delighted to announce that Oliver Murray has been awarded the Paul Lidgett Memorial Prize for an outstanding performance and innovative and analytical work on SXP390 The Science Project Course: radiation and matter. 

Oliver’s tutor Catherine Brocksopp is quoted saying:

“Oliver's study into exoplanets around white dwarfs was highly original and fascinating to read. His scientific writing flowed seamlessly, discussing and evaluating his sources and taking on the appearance of a professional piece of research.”

11th January 2021

Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell awarded RAS Gold medal

We are delighted to announce that Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, has been awarded the prestigious Royal Astronomical Society Gold Medal. This is the Society's highest honour, once which can be awarded for any reason but usually recognises lifetime achievement. Past winners include Albert Einstein, Edwin Hubble, Arthur Eddington and Stephen Hawking. It was first awarded in 1824; since 1964 two have been awarded each year: one for astronomy, and one for geophysics.

11th January 2021

Moon Night 2020


17th December 2020

The Moon's water: past, current, and future perspectives

Catch-up on the most recent Institute of Physics lecture by Dr Jessica Barnes from The University of Arizona. Dr Barnes joined us as part of our Moon Night 2020 celebrations, that took place as online events over three nights during 7-9th of December.

15th December 2020

Postgraduate Space Science course registrations open

Places are still available on our MSc in Space Science and Technology and our Postgraduate Certificate in Space Science for 2021 start.

Our qualifications in space science are designed for graduates in science/engineering wanting to develop careers in the space sector.

Register by 14 Jan 2021, click here for more information.

4th December 2020

Moon Night is back 7-9th December 2020

Monday 7 December marks the 48th anniversary of the Apollo 17 launch. The Open University STEM Faculty is hosting a series of events as part of its Moon Night with several Moon experts plus external speakers.

Fly me to the Moon - 7 December 16:30 – 18:45 pm

4th December 2020

Page 3 of 12