YASS - What can I study?

YASS Guide and Course List

S6 pupils can choose from a wide range of university level (SCQF 7) courses which can be studied in school alongside their other subjects. 

There are courses in a range of subject areas, from science to law, languages to accounting and much more.

You can choose to study a 10 or 30 credit course in a subject area that interests you. The courses start in October and run for either six or nine months depending on the credit level.

A downloadable copy of the YASS guide and course list (.pdf) is available.

An interactive at a glance version of the course list (.pdf) is available to download.

Course levels

The courses offered through YASS are at SCQF level 7: equivalent to the first year at a traditional university.

Credit points

Each course has credit points (10 or 30) which indicates the amount of credit you can count towards an Open University qualification and how many hours it might take you to study. One credit point represents approximately ten hours of study.

Please note: these credit points are higher education (CATS) points and not part of the UCAS tariff.

Further information and enrolment

To find out more about a course, including future enrolment dates, tutor support and assessment, please click on the course title you are interested in below.

The following courses are not necessarily shown in the recommended order of study for an OU qualification. The number of credit points for each individual module is noted in brackets.


Business and Management

Engineering, computing and technology

Health and Social Care





Social Sciences

Sport and Exercise